Our Riddick’s Epilepsy

Our precious Riddick woke me at 3:50 this morning, pacing our bedroom. 😦

Pacing is a big part of his pre-seizure “aura”, and the pacing gradually gets worse with him walking into walls and furniture, and falling over forwards. 😥
I quickly put his harness on, and he went outside for a busy. Then I took him to the living room (which has no furniture ATM) so I could let him pace without walking into anything, and have space to move him if he had a seizure. After a while I got him to lie down on a towel in the middle of the lounge and I sat next to him.
He had a seizure, but one of his weird twitchy ones, thankfully not a full grand mal.

He slept on the towel next to me for a while, and I waited until his twitching had completely stopped before I woke him and took him back to his bed in the bedroom.

He was still a little restless, but mostly he slept until my alarm went off at 5:45. He was still a little wobbly, but much more himself, and starving!

His blood sugar was nice and Riddick-normal, which I was glad about.

I took him with me in the car when we dropped my husband off for work – I don’t take Riddick every time but I wanted to keep an eye on him.
The fact that he was quietly sitting or lying in the back seat told me he definitely was not himself! Normally he stands with his head between the front seats, trying to rest his head on our shoulders, and squeak-groans almost all the time.

Last night, Riddick’s behaviour was a little “off”, so I was sort of expecting a seizure. He didn’t come when called, he barked a lot at nothing we could see or hear, and he didn’t respond to our emergency recall word at all – which is very unusual.

We were 32 days seizure free, and I haven’t skimped on his meds… If this trend continues I can live with one seizure a month. 😥

About Angel

We have 4 cats who live exclusively indoors, we have 4 dogs live mostly inside, and we are Guide Dog puppy raisers for SA Guide-Dogs!

Posted on April 4, 2017, in Canine Epilepsy, illness, my furry masters, Riddick, the dogs. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

