He Swallows What He Chews On!

He’s only 5 and a bit… But I swear I could write a book about our Riddick! :D If Riddick is chewing on something, he swallows it while he’s busy. He clearly has no gag reflex!
When he was a puppy, I was often woken in the wee hours of the morning by him puking up a sock. And I can’t tell you how many times he pooped a sock. I was baffled! I did everything I could to make sure we left no clothing lying around, but still it continued and I was terrified a sock was going to get stuck!
I made it my mission to work it out and discovered that one of my cats would “hunt” socks out of our cupboards, drawers, and washing baskets, and leave them lying around the house, where Riddick would find them and chew on them, swallowing as he did so! We managed to put a stop to it without a sock getting stuck!
He also ate and puked or pooped out plastic packets, a couple of dishtowels, the drawstring from a pair of my husband’s shorts, and a couple of pairs of my knickers.
And he’s FAST!
Before he was 5 months old (2012), I had to take him to the vet when he threw up paintballs! You know the ones used in the shooting game? He’d found them in my son’s bedroom and swallowed a whole lot! He threw up a few times and I counted about 50 paintballs when I phoned the vet, who assured me that paintballs are non-toxic and that if he’d thrown them all up he’d have an upset stomach but should be fine. I told them I was a little worried about his ever expanding stomach and how much water he was drinking and that I didn’t know how many paintballs he swallowed! They suggested I take him in and off we went. Riddick was very uncomfortable and whiny, and once we were there the vet agreed that he looked like he’d swallowed a basket ball and they’d best help him out. They gave him a shot to make him throw up and about half an hour later they figured he was “empty”, and gave him another shot to stop him puking. Seems he swallowed 100 to 150 paintballs! He was exhausted! The vet was confident he’d be fine and said I must keep his food and water intake to a minimum to avoid more puking, and that he would have a very runny tummy for a day or so.
The next morning he was a hundred percent back to normal thank goodness, and his adventure earned him a spot on dogshaming.com! :D
[IMG]
About a year later (2013), we had moved to a different house, and it was like the previous tenants had used the garden as a tip and I was working daily to pick up rubbish, and the dogs kept unearthing more!
One Monday morning Riddick started throwing up, but it was like he had no control – he didn’t even retch, it just came pouring out of his mouth and he was restless and pacing. We headed to the vet immediately. They kept him overnight and could find nothing on the xrays, but bloodtests showed he wasn’t sick, so on the Tuesday they did surgery to look for an obstruction. They found a ball of disgusting old rag about the size of a grapefruit at the point where the large and small intestine meet, with a wad of grass and leaves he’d been eating because he wasn’t feeling well. Thankfully they managed to gently move the blockage down his large intestine without actually cutting it open, but he had a long cut down the length of his tummy. Parts of his small intestine were inflamed by the passage of the rag, but not necrotic so not needing to be removed. They kept him for 48 hours to make sure the inflammation didn’t become infected and to make sure he could eat and busy before we could bring him home.
[IMG]
It goes without saying that I have watched him very closely ever since! His latest adventure though, took him less than 5 minutes!
I took Riddick to the vet – he’s stronger every day but his sugar is wrong and he’s lost weight. Guide Dog Puppy Riggs went with me. I put both of them back in the car afterwards, with their leads still on (I usually unclip them) and went back inside to pay. Took maybe 5 minutes. I got home, and this is all I could find of Riddick’s lead.  I wasn’t sure which one of them ate it, but it was probably Riddick, and I couldn’t go back to the vet ‘coz the car packed in as I got home. I spent the next few days watching and waiting for them to pass it and praying for no obstruction!
Riddick pooped it out in bits and I am pretty sure its all out, and he’s completely normal.
[IMG]
Oy.
Stomachs of iron indeed.
About Angel

We have 4 cats who live exclusively indoors, we have 4 dogs live mostly inside, and we are Guide Dog puppy raisers for SA Guide-Dogs!

Posted on July 15, 2017, in Riddick, vet visits. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

